The UTC's website has moved! Visit our new site at Please update your bookmarks and favorites.

Public Safety > Pipeline Safety >

Citizens Committee on Pipeline Safety

In 2000, the Governor and the Washington State Legislature established, in state law, the Citizens Committee on Pipeline Safety (CCOPS).

RCW 81.88.140 - "The Citizens Committee on Pipeline Safety is established to advise the state agencies and other appropriate federal and local government agencies and officials on matters relating to hazardous liquid and gas pipeline safety, routing, construction, operation, and maintenance."

The Washington State Citizens Committee on Pipeline Safety is a Governor-appointed committee that meets regularly to discuss, identify, review and highlight pipeline safety issues on a local and national level. The committee consists of nine voting members representing the public, including local government, and elected officials. Four non-voting members represent owners and operators of hazardous liquid and gas pipelines. The members serve three year staggered terms. The Committee is staffed by the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission pipeline safety division.

This page may be also be accessed via the URL address:
Mailing address for the Committee is PO Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7250
If you have any questions, or if you have any issues that you want to pass on to the committee, please contact Marina Woodard at (360) 664-1150 or email at


Access Washington Logo
360-664-1160 | PO Box 47250, Olympia, WA 98504-7250